top ten songs that made my latest party a success

last weekend my friends and i threw a 1920’s themed birthday party for a mutual friend. these are the songs that helped to keep the party going throughout the night.

back to black – amy winehouse although i have always known of Amy, I was officially introduced to her when my friend played Valerie for me in the car.  I was instantly hooked, so I obviously had to add her onto my playlist. this song is wonderfully jazzy – her voice and her harmonies are something special.
listen to Back To Black: here     listen to Valerie: here

call your girlfriend – robyn this song doesn’t get much radio play, so i don’t remember where i first discovered this gem of a song. But, let me tell you how many times my girlfriends and i sang this song at the top of our lungs last summer. it has the perfect beat for dancing and just enough sassiness to make you feel as though you’re invincible. (at least, that’s how i feel when this song brings out MY sassiness).
listen to it (and see Robyn’s dance moves) here
also, this is my favorite cover of this song. listen here

crazy in love – emeli sande this song is from The Great Gatsby soundtrack and was an exceptional hit at my latest party, mostly because it was 1920’s themed, but regardless of the theme i am positive it still would’ve had wonderful reception. the original song by Beyonce’ was already great, but the 1920’s twist on this one is fresh and original.
listen here

dance with me tonight – olly murs this is another fantastic song by Olly Murs who is originally from the UK. (I am telling you, the UK is home to exceptional music). This song had my friends and I dancing like crazy. The music video is great too, and so is the rest of his album. I am hoping to see more of Olly in the future.
listen and watch the music video here (let’s be honest, he’s adorable).

jumpin, jumpin, – destiny’s child this is an oldie but goody – just about every Destiny’s Child is, but this one is in the top five.
take a walk down memory lane and listen here

oh no! – marina and the diamonds i’m still unsure why here name is called marina and the diamonds when it’s just a solo singer, but regardless her music is something fantastic. it introduces an original sound, and this song was even featured on the latest Just Dance video game. Her latest album, that includes this song has been on repeat for the past week.
listen to Oh No! here  listen to another favorite Marina song here

safe and sound – capital cities i recently found this song on the top 200 singles on iTunes a few weeks ago and I instantly fell in love with it. I honestly fall in love with any song involding trumpets!
listen here 

it wasn’t me – shaggy this song is outrageously silly, but let’s be honest it’s a party classic.
laugh at it here

wings – little mix my friends and i have been obsessed with this song for months now, and can’t wait until this fantastic girl group debuts their album here in the states. again, trumpets are my weakness!
listen here 

if you got the money – jame t i was just introduced to this rapper from the UK just last week, by a friend who has been listening to him for years. this is one of my favorite songs i have heard from him thus far. it’s a different type of rap then the type that is played in America – the number one difference is that you can hear his accent as he raps, which is very wonderful if i am being honest.
listen here

10 thoughts on “top ten songs that made my latest party a success

  1. conyeeezy says:

    Thanks for following me and great playlist btw! A 1920s themed party sounds fun. Very Gatsby-esque haha :p

Leave a Reply

