getting there.

“you will get there when you are meant to get there and not one moment sooner. so relax, breathe, and be patient.”
– Mandy Hale

When I was a little girl my Vovo (that’s what my brother and I called her since we are Portuguese) would always talk about visiting Rome. Her biggest dream was to see the Pope at St. Peter’s Basilica. She passed away before she had a chance to visit the beautiful city – but when she died I vowed that one day, I would visit the city in her honor.

I can’t say that my avid wanderlust started when I made the internal vow of one day traveling to Rome. I actually can’t exactly pinpoint where it began – I am assuming it was when I was given a really great opportunity to study abroad for two weeks the summer before my senior year of high school. I traveled to Paris and London with thirty other students – Paris was absolutely wonderful. The food was fantastic especially the paninis, and the buildings and architecture made me feel as though I was in a movie. I even cried when I reached the top of the Eiffel Tower because the city that was beneath me was so beautiful – I simply was just happy to be there. And London, don’t even get me started at how wonderful London was. I am almost positive I left my heart there three years ago… and no, I haven’t and probably never will get it back.

But, when I went to study abroad my mother was so shocked and surprised that I ever wanted to leave the states (she has never and has no desire to ever set food off of American soil). I knew she still supported me, but still thought I was a crazy lunatic – and that was okay. She and I see differently when it comes to travel. However, if you are reading this and have not gone abroad or even set foot out of her little town – please go. Traveling is one of the best forms of education in my opinion. You meet people that you would never have met had you not stepped outside your door. They have accents and different customs and they teach you things that a schoolbook could never teach you. You eat new foods and instead of actually looking at the gothic architecture or cobblestone streets you can actually go inside the historic buildings and walk along the cobblestone streets. Honestly, traveling feeds your soul and makes you richer than any old job or schoolbook could make you.

When I got back from Europe three years ago, I vowed to myself that not only would I go to Rome for my Vovo, but I would see all the places that I wanted to see before I died – and there is a lot. And, sometimes I get overwhelmed with my dreams to travel the world simply because I am afraid I won’t get there or I won’t be able to. I don’t know where my travels will take me but I know that wherever I end up it will fill up my spirit as much as I will let it. I pinterested my life away this evening, just simply in the “travel” category.  I spent a lot of my time in the London, England tag too. After all, I still have to take back my heart that London stole from me three short years ago.

I do not know how or when I will get there, but I can promise to myself, to my Vovo and to all of you that one day I will get there.

2 thoughts on “getting there.

  1. You are so right, traveling does so much for a person… Changes perspectives, adds color, creates memories, steals hearts, brings adventure… And you learn a lot about yourself when you travel too.

    When you get to Rome, it will be everything you expected and more.

Leave a Reply

