staying in one place | doubt

lately I’ve been dealing with a lot of self doubt – and anyone that knows me would say that that is very uncharacteristic of me. Which it is; and I’m not saying that I’m an over confident person either so I suppose I would say that I am somewhere in the middle of being a confident teenage girl, like Regina George from Mean Girls and introverted Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh.

Wait, that might be a little too extreme.

I guess what I am saying is that lately I have been doing my usual writing and questioning whether my audience will like it or not. And, asking my friends things like “but what if people don’t like my writing?” “what if I’m not successful?” I am slowly learning that these questions of doubt are probably one of the worst things that you could ever ask yourself when you are trying to succeed.

Questions such as this bring my father on edge. My father is a successful automobile painter who literally started from the bottom of the totem pole and worked his way to the top of his profession. He reminds me of this every time I begin to doubt myself. He does it not to brag about how far he has come, but simply to let me know that being successful is possible but only if you want it bad enough and only if you give your profession everything that you have. Simply put, always be passionate with what you do.

He then names off countless famous, hardworking people who worked hard and never took no for an answer, such as J.K. Rowling who was turned down twelve times by publishers before they accepted Harry Potter as a good enough book. The only reason J.K. Rowling is as successful as she is, is because she believed she was good enough and she never gave up. She was passionate and confident about the stories she had bestowed in her novels.

My dad always ends his speech with, “Em, you need to learn to take risks. People don’t always get it right the first time and truth be told you aren’t supposed to. But you really need to learn to take risks or you won’t get anywhere in your life. People don’t earn a living by staying in one place.”

I suppose I need to stop doubting and stop asking myself questions that make me question my ability to do what I want and what I love. So, from here on out I will start moving and stop staying in one place.

2 thoughts on “staying in one place | doubt

  1. Sandy Strati says:

    Love your Blog, Emily. So true. Those doubts are walls, but only walls that we can take down or go around to continue moving forward. Fathers are great to give us lessons in life! Mine believed in me to be able to do anything I wanted to do. Your Dad is doing the same, passing on a truth. Tell Tom, Happy Father’s Day! P.S. Loved the song. I never heard it before.

    • Thanks so much Sandy, I am really glad that you like it! And I will definitely tell him Happy Father’s Day! Hope you’re doing well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

